MENU
Willaston Mill 2009
Willaston Mill 2009
Willaston Mill Stone in the village centre
Willaston Mill 1910
Willaston Mill 1910
Willaston Mill 1925
Willaston Mill 2009
Willaston Mill 2009
Willaston Mill 1910
Willaston Mill 1925
Willaston Mill 1910
Willaston Mill Stone in the village centre
The mill at Willaston is Wirral's tallest mill.  It was built circa 1800 to replace the old Peg Mill.  
Documents show that a man called Mr Shuttleworth had a small bakers shop at the mill where he
would produce loafs of bread to send onto London the next afternoon.  

In 1914 the mil was used as a look out for enemy activity before finally closing its doors in the 1930s,
when its sails were destroyed in a storm.  

It is build from fine red bricks and capped with a timber top to support the sails.  The mill was not only
used to create flour but also to grind up cattle food for the village.  The mill had five sets of large
grinding stones to carry out its work, one of which can be seen on display in the village centre.  

The out buildings have today been fully renovated and stand as part of a desirable set of private
residences with the mills tower itself having been converted for domestic use.  .